About Us

Our Mission

To create a family friendly atmosphere providing a diverse variety of fresh quality local products through a marketing system beneficial to both vendors and the public.

The St. Paul Farmers’ Market is made up of many unique markets, across five counties, running six days a week. For over 165 years, The St. Paul Farmers’ Market has been proud to enjoy the support of the community. That tradition of support continues today.

We are the longest-running farmers’ market in the state of Minnesota. Established in 1854 by the St. Paul Growers’ Association, the market is a family-friendly destination made up of a diverse variety of local vendors that provide an abundance of fresh, quality, local products.

Our definition of local is 100 miles from St. Paul – that means all of the food you see in our markets is grown or made close to home! The St. Paul Growers’ Association seeks to uplift small businesses across Minnesota and Wisconsin by providing markets for local growers and food producers across Anoka, Dakota, Ramsey, Scott, and Washington counties.

Our Staff Members

Jim Golden

Executive Director 

Lindsay Stauner

Assistant Director – Neighborhood Markets

Linda Darling

Development Coordinator

Ben Bicknese

Marketing Manager

Dave Heschke

Downtown Manager and Inspector

Vicki Jensen 

Office Manager

Board of Directors

Brenda Carlson

Eichten's Cheese

Greg Novak

Novak Orchards, LLC

Larry Hill

Aspen Ridge Honey

Tony McGinnity

Bell's Maple Syrup

Julie Backes

Pflaum Farms

Jake Jordan

Jordan Seeds

Linda Noble

Farm on Wheels

Mark Porisch

Lucky's Sauces


The genesis of the Saint Paul Farmers Market was set into motion by a call to answer a basic necessity: The need for a community to feed and sustain itself. In 1853 French-Canadian Fur Trapper, Vital Guerin, responded to that call and helped build Minnesota’s first public Farmers

Market. 150 years later, this need for a community to feed and sustain itself continues and is held up by the philanthropy that Guerin inspired prior to Minnesota joining the union.